Subject leader

Mr Cooke is responsible for PSHE. This means ensuring there is an ambitious curriculum set, supporting teachers to implement it through high-quality lessons and checking that everything is helping children to know more, remember more and do more.

If you would like more information in addition to that published on this page, please email:


Oakfield's Approach


We are setting out to help our pupils be ...


We will do this by ensuring ...


We will have made a difference when ...

Six sequenced pieces per year ...

In P.S.H.E. there are six key topics that are taught each year across school. Children across the school study the same topics at the same time with an increasing level of age-appropriate material introduced each year.

Progression on a page ...

Here is an overview of what we expect children to be taught, know and do by the end of each year group.

Year R

Children will:

Year 1

Year 2

Year 3

Year 4

Year 5

Year 6

Units of Learning ...

Being Me in My World

In Year 1, children explore their feelings and learn about their school environment. They begin to understand the importance of celebrating differences and develop their sense of belonging. In Year 2, pupils learn about making choices and the importance of cooperation. They delve deeper into understanding respect and problem-solving. By Year 3, children are taught about their rights and responsibilities, and learn to set goals for themselves. They also develop skills in resolving conflicts and understanding democracy. Year 4 pupils explore the concept of friendship, while Year 5 pupils focus on identity and respecting others. In their final year, Year 6 children learn about self-image and managing change, preparing them for the next stage in their education.

Celebrating Differences

In Year 1, children learn about different types of families and the importance of friendship and respect. In Year 2, the focus is on understanding and embracing differences and learning to manage emotions. They also explore bullying and its impact. By Year 3, pupils learn about disabilities, acceptance, and how to support others. In Year 4, the emphasis is on community, empathy, and equality. Year 5 pupils delve into the concept of diversity, tolerance, and cultural awareness. Lastly, Year 6 children learn about prejudice, stereotypes, and discrimination, and discuss human rights.

Dreams and Goals

Year 1 children start by setting simple goals and celebrating their achievements. In Year 2, pupils learn about perseverance, success, and ambition. By Year 3, teamwork and overcoming challenges become the focus, alongside setting targets for themselves. In Year 4, the importance of aspirations and self-motivation is discussed, along with the value of collaboration. Year 5 pupils learn about long-term goals, resilience, and personal values, while in Year 6, the focus shifts to career choices, skills for work, and decision-making.

Healthy Me

In Year 1, children learn about maintaining a healthy body and mind, as well as the importance of safety. Year 2 pupils focus on exercise, sleep, and making healthy choices. By Year 3, children explore balanced diets, dental care, and physical activity. In Year 4, the focus is on hygiene, emotional well-being, and stress management. In Year 5, pupils learn about mental health, body image, and online safety. In their final year, Year 6 children discuss substance misuse, peer pressure, and the importance of nurturing healthy relationships.


Year 1 children learn about trust, listening, and understanding feelings. In Year 2, pupils explore friendship, empathy, and cooperation. By Year 3, the focus is on communication, conflict resolution, and offering support to others. In Year 4, pupils discuss respect, family, and dealing with loss. In Year 5, pupils learn about setting boundaries, maintaining healthy relationships, and understanding intimate relationships. Lastly, Year 6 pupils focus on consent, online communication, and social media safety.

Changing Me

In Year 1, children learn about growth and change, as well as the concept of transition. In Year 2, pupils explore life cycles and coping strategies. By Year 3, the focus is on puberty, managing change, and decision-making. In Year 4, pupils discuss body changes, acceptance, and taking responsibility. In Year 5, pupils learn about emotional changes and support networks. Lastly, in Year 6, the focus is on self-esteem, personal growth, and preparing for secondary school, as well as exploring future aspirations.

Detailed Progression in PSHE

1e - Threshold Concepts June 2022.pdf